And here I go…

Welcome to my first post πŸ™Œ. Not going to lie, it took a lot of effort to get to this blog up and running. I consider myself a fairly tech savvy person, but jeeze not in this instance.

Anywhooo again welcome! So why am I here? Well good question. I am about to start a brand new chapter in my life which (I hope) will provide plenty to talk about. But also I suppose I hope will inspire other people to maybe take a leap and try something new (completely out of their comfort zone) as well.

A bit about me – I’ve always loved travelling and more recently I’ve found a passion for photography (well my mum tells me I have a good eye 😜). Additionally I love all things outdoors including exploring a new place, watching a sunset or hiking up a mountain. So it’s always made sense to go travelling, but I’ve never been brave enough to pack up my comfortable life and do it. Until now…

2016 was a tough year for a lot of people, but it’s taught me one valuable lesson, life is too short. So with that in mind, I’ve decided I need to do more, meet new people, visit beautiful places and give back to local communities. My adventure will start at Gatwick airport on 26th January, arriving in Japan on 27th January. After that I’ll be visiting Laos, Vietnam, Cambodia, Borneo (where i’ll be volunteering), Indonesia, Australia, New Zealand, Fiji and Hong Kong on the way home. Eeeeeeekkkkkk!

When I first planned this trip, I looked at the hardship in a materialistic way. For example I had to dye my lovely ginger hair to a more practical natural colour, or that my comics would have to stay at home and unread for however long, or more importantly that I couldn’t take a years worth of my Grandad’s famous tomato spaghetti and fried chicken with me. But the closer and closer the trip has become, I’ve realised how little it matters (although let’s be honest, if I could I’d take the food). In all seriousness, it’s the people I’m leaving behind that make this decision the biggest one I may ever take. But sometimes when life throws lemons, you gotta jump.

Anyway that’s me and my first post done. If you want to hear more, you can follow my antics through this blog and more visually on Instagram – @jessicastorm3.

Onwards and upwards – first stop Japan πŸ‡―πŸ‡΅!

Jessica Storm ✌️

jess-hoare

4 thoughts on “And here I go…

Leave a Reply

